Sunday, January 17, 2021


NVHEF Gives $33,000 to Medical Nursing Students

Submitted to the WPR –

Chico, California (April 4, 2012) – North Valley Health Education Foundation has selected 17 scholarship recipients to be awarded $33,000 at this year’s Annual Awards Dinner on April 5 at the Enloe Conference Center.  These scholarships were made available to local and out-of-area students from the area admitted in nursing, medical school or allied health studies in Butte College, Chico State, UC Davis, and other out of the area medical schools.

Over the past 37 years, NVHEF has given $725,548 in scholarships.  Throughout the many years since its founding in 1973, NVHEF relies on the many individuals who give their support through monetary donations and volunteering their time.  The board of directors consists of 15 members from the community, including: Joel Adema (President), Amy Brusie (Vice President), Kent Ahlswede (Chief Financial Officer), Janet Ellis, RN (Secretary), Jennifer Griggs (Scholarship Chair), Ned Kirkham (Finance Committee Chair), Philip Price, Robert Mauer, Kaywood Fuqua, RN, BSN, Todd Lewis.  Appointed members of the board include: Donna Davis (Butte College), Carol Huston (CSU, Chico). Mary Latimer (Enloe), Lauren Snow (UC Davis).

This year’s 38th Annual Scholarship Dinner is made possible by the gracious sponsorship of Enloe Medical Center.  NVHEF would also like to thank Spiteri’s Deli and Catering for preparing the dinner.

The mission of North Valley Health Education Foundation is to help people with financial need become contributing members of society.  NVHEF would like to see the investment in these medical students would benefit the communities they choose to serve.

For additional information on NVHEF, please contact Sara Nelson, Secretary to the Board of Directors, at 530-591-4161, or visit

Lloyd Green Jr, Editor
Lloyd Green Jr, Editor
Lloyd Green Jr. is the Owner and Publisher of the Williams Pioneer Review. He is dedicated in publishing the news and informing the community of Colusa County. Lloyd has been with the publication since 2008, and purchased the business in 2010. Under his ownership the newspaper has grown significantly in subscriptions, publishes weekly, and obtained the title of Newspaper of General Circulation by the Superior Court of Colusa County in Sept. 2017. Lloyd is also the director of advertising, classified manager, legal notice clerk, and circulation manager. To contact Lloyd, email him at or call (530) 458-4141 ext. 100.

More News

Local Government

Public & Legal Notices

Latest Headlines