The upcoming increase in California’s minimum wage means almost all employers must post an updated minimum wage notice.
AB 10 increases California’s current minimum wage of $8 per hour by two, one-dollar increments — the first in July 2014, and the second in January 2016. The new law marks the first increase to the minimum wage since January 1, 2008.
The new official notice must display:
- The current minimum wage of $8.00 per hour;
- The new first increase in the minimum wage to $9.00 per hour effective July 1, 2014; and
- The second increase in the minimum wage to $10.00 per hour effective January 1, 2016.
The California Labor Commissioner included the current minimum wage rate and the two upcoming increases on the new official notice. The decision to include all three rates benefits employers. It gives businesses a legally compliant minimum wage notice that can be used on January 1, 2014, and covers them when the July 2014 increase occurs.
Employers should further note there is a mandatory change to the California Department of Fair Employment and Housing notice “California Law Prohibits Workplace Discrimination and Harassment” that requires a new employment notice posting on January 1, 2014.
Even a business that employs only one person in California must post and hand out required state and federal employment notices in each company location.