Starting Tuesday, July 1, 2014; many Californians will see an increase into their paychecks as the states minimum wage rises to $9 per hour, the first increase since 2008.
As required by state law, almost all employees in California must be paid the minimum wage, which is $9 per hour. This is the first of two raises Californians will receive as part of AB10 which was signed into law last fall.
A second increase in the minimum wage will become effective January 1, 2016, where the California state minimum wage will be $10 per hour.
Individuals who are exempt from the minimum wage law include: outside salespersons, individuals who are the parent, spouse, or child of the employer, and apprentices regularly indentured under the State Division of Apprenticeship Standards.
The minimum wage increase is one of several new laws taking effect in July. Other laws will provide additional protections to victims of domestic violence, expand the state’s paid family leave program, and give tax breaks to manufacturers.
Although, President Barack Obama has urged Congress to raise the federal minimum wage to $10.10 an hour, his proposal hasn’t gained much interest in Congress and is encouraging the nations cities and states to raise the minimum wages on their own.
The State of Washington currently has the highest minimum wage in the Country, at $9.32 per hour. The City of Seattle recently voted to raise the minimum wage within its city to $15 per hour, starting next April and phasing in over several years.
The City of San Francisco is currently the only municipality debating minimum wage increase in California.
“Californians deserve a fair shot at living the American Dream,” said Assemblyman Luis Alejo, “This first modest increase will help put more money in the pockets of hardworking Californians to provide food, clothes and housing for their families,” ■