Monday, May 17, 2021



Chamber of Commerce announces new board members after election

(L-toR) Colusa County Chamber of Commerce President Donna Phelan, Chamber Office Manager, John Morton and Colusa County Supervisor, John Loudon count ballots for the Chamber board election.

The Colusa County Chamber of Commerce has announced that it has 10 new board members after an election held the past few weeks.

Chamber President Donna Phelan says that a total of 12 candidates were nominated and agreed to put their names forward to serve on the board for the next three years. Phelan added that two of the candidates will serve two-year terms to fill current vacancies.

On Wednesday, Dec. 7, Phelan along with Chamber Member Dick Armocido, Chamber Office Manager John Morton, and Colusa County Supervisor John Loudon, tallied the votes and the following 10 names were announced as garnering the most votes:

Incumbents Nick Reading (Superior Tires), Ed Hulbert (Colusa Industrial Properties), Ben Felt (Ben Felt and Associates), and Jon Ashbaugh (Premier Mushrooms), as well as Cindy Campbell (All Star Realty), Valente Bailey (Colusa Flooring Co.), Jenifer Diaz (Rosita Farms), Nancy Newlin (Colusa Legal Support Services), Nicole Berg (Colusa Casino), and Aurora Ramirez (Soothing Hands Massage Therapy).

“It was a great selection of people chosen for the board,” said Supervisor Loudon following the certification of votes. “I am satisfied with the turnout and think its great to see new faces and representation.”

Phelan commented, “I am really excited for the projects the chamber has going so far. I believe we have a good mix of new board members and quality people serving.”

Newly elected board member Jennifer Diaz said, “I am excited and honored to be a part of the Chamber board.” Diaz has volunteered for the board in recent months as the Farmers Market Manager and the Farm to Fork organizer.

“I am extremely happy to see Jennifer on the board in the official capacity,” said Chamber member Dick Armocido. “She has done a great job with the Farmers Market.”

Newly elected board member Cindy Campbell said that she, too, was excited to be a part of the board.

“I hope to bring something new to the board. I have a few ideas up my sleeve,” said Campbell.

Campbell mentioned that she would like to work on a special armed forces recognition project that she saw implemented in other towns.

Oncoming board member Nancy Newlin commented that she hopes to bring back the business women to business women event.

“I am glad to be a part of the chamber board,” said Newlin. “I believe as a small business owner we need to work together to serve our community.”

The outgoing board members include Pat Kittle, Don Litchfield, Daniel O’Connell Jr., Polly Seaver-Codorniz, Diane Shuman, and Dick Armocido.

Armocido wished to thank the business community for allowing him to serve nearly 18 years on the board. “I started with the EDC (Economic Development Corporation) and served through the transition period,” said Armocido. “I am glad to see new blood and look forward to seeing fresh ideas.”

More News

Local Government

Public & Legal Notices