Sunday, July 25, 2021


Candidate filing period for General Election

Preparations are underway for the Nov. 6, 2018 General Election, and the filing period for all offices opens Monday, July 16 and runs through Friday August 10.

“If an incumbent officeholder does not file, that deadline is extended to non-incumbents only until Wednesday, Aug. 15,” said Rose Gallo-Vasquez, County Clerk-Recorder and Registrar.

Following is a list of the offices set for election and incumbents:

■ The City of Colusa has three Council seats up, two full term seats (4 yrs.) held by incumbents Thomas Reische, and David Womble and one short term seat (2 yrs.) held by appointed incumbent Josh Hill.

■ The Williams City Council has three seats to be filled, held by Alfred Sellers, Jr., Charles L. Bergson, and Santos Jauregui.

■ The County Board of Education has three seats up. Incumbents are Nancy G. Marshall, Trustee Area 3, Virginia Frias, Area 4, and Ed Conrado, Area 5.

■ Glenn County Board of Education has two seats up. Trustee Area C covering Elk Creek and Stonyford currently held by Kathy Perez. Trustee Area D that covers a portion of Princeton held by Janice Cannon.

■ Colusa Unified School District has two Trustee seats up. Incumbents are Charles Yerxa and Kathie Whitesell.

■ Maxwell Unified School District has three Trustee positions. Incumbents are Cristy Edwards, Kim Giffin, and Tom Charter.

■ Pierce Joint Unified School District will vote on two Trustee seats. Amy Charter, and John R. Friel, Sr., incumbents.

■ Princeton Joint Unified School District has three Trustee seats up for election, currently held by Cathy Withrow, Victoria Reamer and Troy Hansen.

■ Stonycreek Joint Unified School District will have one position up in Trustee Are 5 held by incumbent Zoe Brandenberger.

■ Williams Unified School District will elect two Trustees held by incumbents Kelly Lewis and Silvia Vaca.

■ The Arbuckle-College City Fire Protection District has two seats up. Michael Doherty and David Burgess, incumbents.

■ The Maxwell Fire Protection District consolidated with the General Election cycle in 2017 has three seats up. Two full term seats (4 yrs.) held by Allen Beck and Kerry Reckers and one short term seat (2 yrs.) held by appointed incumbent Scott Rudiger.

■ The Colusa County Resource Conservation District has three seats up. Incumbents are Robert Alvernaz, Tom Hickok, and Ben Felt.

■ The Maxwell Public Utility District has three seats up held by David Carvahlo, Jr., Thomas Detlefsen, and one vacancy.

There are no filing fees for any of these offices.

“The cost to file an optional Candidate’s Statement of Qualifications is based on the number of voters in the district and is refundable if the seat does not go to election,” said Gallo-Vasquez. “In general, the qualifications for all of the offices require the candidate to be a registered voter and reside in the jurisdiction or district they are running in.”

Candidates for City Council must obtain and file nomination papers at the City Hall. In order to qualify, candidates must obtain a minimum of 20, but no more than 30 signatures from voters within their cities.

Prospective candidates for all other offices obtain and file candidacy forms with the County Clerk at 546 Jay Street, Suite 200, Colusa. Hours are 8:30 AM to 4:00 PM, Monday through Friday (Office hours are extended to 5:00 PM on filing deadline dates).

A calendar with the filing deadlines can be found at For additional information contact the Elections Office at 458-0500.n

More News

Local Government

Public & Legal Notices