County schools reorganize 


A new year means that Colusa County schools have new governing boards, who will be in charge of budgets, policies, student performance, and considering the concerns of stakeholders. 

Colusa Unified School District welcomed Melissa Yerxa Ortiz as president for a second consecutive year, and Michael Phenicie as the clerk. Trustees include Kathie Whitesell, Kelli Griffith-Garcia, and Chris Mcallister. 

Maxwell Unified School District seated Diana Kemp Azevedo as president and Cristy Edwards as vice president. Trustees include Kelly Haywood, Tom Charter, and Robert Shadley III. 

Pierce Joint Unified School District’s rotation brought George Green back into the role of president and Amy Charter as vice president. Abel Gomez is the clerk. 

Princeton Joint Unified School District did not change their officers. Cathy Withrow will continue as president and Victoria Reamer will stay as the board’s clerk. Troy Hansen and Debbie Wills are trustees.

Williams Unified School District seated George W. Simmons as president and Silvia Vaca as vice president. Other board members are Ana Leos-Vera, Alejandra Lopez, and Yareli Mora.

The Colusa County Board of Education seated Ed Conrado as president and Lynn Bowen Burnham as vice president. Trustees are Brenda Miller, Richard Morrell, and Jason McMullan. ■

Susan Meeker
Susan Meeker is the Editor and Reporter for the Pioneer Review. She started her position with the Pioneer Review in January 2017 as the Advertising Manager. Susan specializes in local crime, government reporting. She also loves covering the various topics and events in our county. You can send her a message at