Thursday, June 24, 2021


Former Williams mayor appointed to County Planning Commission

 The Colusa County Board of Supervisors approved the appointments of five individuals to the districts on the county’s Planning Commission for 2021. 

Their terms commence Feb. 1, with newcomer John Troughton Jr. filling the empty District 3 seat. 

Commissioner David M. McCullough, currently vice-chair, has served as the representative from District 1 on the commission since 2018. District 2 Commissioner Richard “Barry” Morrell has served since 2015. 

District 4 Commissioner Kirk Pendleton has served on the Planning Commission since 2019, and longest serving Commissioner Gail Beduhn has served for District 5 since 2008. 

Former Williams Mayor John Troughton Jr. is the newest member to be appointed to the Colusa County Planning Commission.  

Troughton, who represents District 3, replaces Don Parson, who was elected to the Williams City Council on Nov. 3, 2020. 

Troughton was elected Colusa County Sheriff for two terms in the 1970s, and was twice elected to the Williams City Council. He is also a founding member of the Brown and Gold Organization, served 10 years on the Williams Finance Committee, and is a current member of the Colusa County Fish and Game Commission. 

Troughton, who chose to seek a position on the Planning Commission when his time ended on the Williams City Council, said he is adept at studying and resolving issues, and has knowledge of zoning and other regulations. 

“I have the time to commit and I am reliable,” he said. “The community we share is important to me and I make it a priority.”

More News

Local Government

Public & Legal Notices