Maxwell baseball fares well in own tournament

The Maxwell Panthers baseball team hosted their annual round robin tournament this past weekend, welcoming five teams: Biggs, American Christian Academy, Portola, Modoc, and Fall River.  

Struggling from the mound, the Panthers lost their first game match-up against rivals, Biggs. Trent Hendrix singled down the left-field line early in the second, advancing Vincent Ferrara for a RBI, putting the Panthers within a run at a 2-1 score. With DJ Windsor and Cody Pearson aboard in the fifth, Wyatt Hendrix delivered a two-run single bringing the Panthers within three. But game time expired before the start of the sixth, giving Biggs a 7-4 win. 

“This team doesn’t give up,” said Maxwell head coach, Tyler Wells. “This time the deficit was a little too much, but I like the effort we gave.”

 Game two against American Christian Academy placed Panther pitcher Vincent Ferrara on the mound. A fly ball to second was picked off easily by Windsor for a Panther first out. A line drive double by the Eagles’ Caleb Wilkins put two ACA runners on base. A pass ball by Ferrara drew ACA’s Wilkins for a steal at third. Pearson, Maxwell’s catcher, overthrew to third, allotting  for ACA’s first score of the game. Maxwell finished the inning off with a strike-out by Ferrara and a fly centerfield catch by Wyatt Hendrix, and a 1-0 ACA lead. At the plate, the Panthers’ Shane Danley sent a hard grounder to the shortstop and found first base on an Eagles error and rounded Timmy Kromis in for a 1-1 score. ACA and Maxwell continued, evenly matched, holding each other to just single runs in the second and no runs in the third. With a 2-2 score at the top of the fourth inning, the Panthers went on to shut out ACA. Trent Hendrix would score off a hard single by Nacho Velasquez, giving the Panthers their first lead of the game, 3-2. Another  hard hit single by Timmy Kromis sent the winning run in by Velasquez, for 4-2 Panther victory. 

Maxwell ended their tournament against Portola in a tie game, 4-4.

Modoc was determined the tournament winners. ■